Bookmark :
Skip to : [Content] [Navigation]

Board Members

The 2015-2017 Executive Committee:

  • President – Heike Geduld (South Africa)
  • Vice President - Mundenga Mutendi Muller (DR Congo)
  • Secretary – Ivy Muya (Kenya)
  • Treasurer - Chris Stein (South Africa)
  • AfJEM Editor in Chief - Stevan Bruijns (South Africa)
  • AfCEM Chair - Hussein Sabri (Egypt)
  • Members at large: Ben Wachira (Kenya), Sisay Teklu (Ethiopia)
  • Immediate past president: Lee Wallis (South Africa)

The 2015-2017 Committee Chairs:

  • Finance - Chris Stein (South Africa)
  • Governance - Petra Brysiewicz (South Africa)
  • Scientific - Joseph Kalanzi (Uganda)
  • Nursing - Ivy Muya (Kenya)
  • Pre-Hospital - Chris Stein (South Africa)
  • Services and Membership - Conrad Buckle (UK)


Past AFEM Boards: 

The 2013-2015 Executive Committee:

  • President – Lee Wallis
  • Vice President – Hendry Sawe
  • Secretary – Heike Geduld
  • Treasurer - Chris Stein
  • Members at Large – Petra Brysiewicz, Benjamin Wachira
  • AfJEM Editor in Chief - Stevan Bruijns
  • AfCEM Chair - Aklilu Azazh

The 2013-2015 Committee Chairs:

  • Finance - Hein Lamprecht
  • Governance - Terry Mulligan
  • Membership - Joseph Kalanzi
  • Nursing - Petra Brysiewicz
  • Pre-Hospital - Chris Stein
  • Scientific - Teri Reynolds
  • Services - Conrad Buckle

The 2013-2015 Society Chairs:

  • Ethiopia - Sisay Teklu
  • Libya - Mohamed Abukalish
  • South Africa - Melanie Stander
  • Sudan - Abdul Monan
  • Tanzania - Hendry Sawe

South Africa

South AfricaSouth Africa

EMSSA represents a group of enthusiastic healthcare professionals dedicated to the development of quality emergency care throughout South Africa. Emergency Medicine has only recently been recognized as an independent speciality, although this country has always had a large burden of patients presenting to our pre-hospital and hospital emergency services with experienced and passionate personnel rendering much needed care.



The Emergency Medicine Association of Tanzania (EMAT) was formed in May 2010  by doctors and nurses with active involvement in emergency care in Tanzania. The President is Dr Hendry Robert Sawe, of Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences(MUHAS)-Dar es salaam. The objective of EMAT is to Pioneer, promote and advocate for dissemination of emergency care in Tanzania, through Teaching, research and education of emergency care.



The Botswana Society for Emergency Care (BSEC) held it's foundational meeting in November 2010, and was officially registered as a society in Botswana in September 2011. BSEC's mission is to promote advocate for emergency care in Botswana through teaching, research, and education. BSEC liases with partners from EMSSA and AFEM, and supports the emergency medicine post-graduate training program at the University of Botswana School of Medicine. Since it's inception, BSEC has hosted seminars on emergency triage, pre-hospital care, and acute care needs in Botswana.



The Ethiopian Society of Emergency Medical Professionals was formed in 2012. The President is Dr Sisay Teklu, of Addis Ababa University. The objective of ESEP is to assist in development of hospital and Pre-Hospital emergency care.



LEMA will encourage and promote professional excellence, advance the science and practice of emergency medicine, and serve as an advocate for patients, their families, the public, the profession and the ER physicians. It will offer to the interdisciplinary team the necessary tools for the interaction with the critically ill patient and their families from a holistic perspective.



SEMPON held their inaugural scientific conference in September 2014, themed: "The State of Emergency Care in Nigeria: the Way Forward". The objective of the organisation is to evaluate the state of emergency care in Nigeria, and engineer cooperation and partnership among key stakeholders.



The president of the Egyptian Society for Emergency Medicine is Dr. Hussein Sabri. It was formed in 2012, and is dedicated to improving patient care by advancing the science and practice of emergency medicine. It is an interdisciplinary organisation whose members are involved in the provision of emergency care.